7 Shilpakala Award recipients named

Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy on Tuesday announced the names of seven persons for the ‘Shilpakala Award 2016’ in seven categories.

The recipients are – Pabitra Mohan Dey in instrumental music, Md Golam Mostafa Khan in dance, Golam Mustafa in photography, Kalidas Karmaker in fine arts, Sirajuddin Pathan in folk culture, Syed Jamil Ahmed in dramatics and Mita Haque in music.

Director General of Shilpakala Academy, Liakat Ali Lucky announced the names of the awardees at a press conference held at the Studio Theater Hall of the academy at Shegunbagicha in Dhaka.

The selected awardees will receive a cheque of Tk.1 lakh, a certificate and a crest on behalf of the Shilpakala Academy, said the director general.

President Abdul Hamid will formally hand over the award to the recipients at a function at 3 pm on July 20.

Secretary of the academy Jahangir Hossain and Director of the Fine Arts Department Maniruzzaman were present at the press conference, among others.

The Shilpakala Academy has been conferring the ‘Shilpakala Award’ since 2013 under the initiative of Cultural Affairs Ministry.

A 16-member nomination committee, comprising the Shilpakala Academy director general, secretary, six directors, seven cultural personalities and one representative of the cultural affairs ministry, selects names for the award.

The awardees are selected for their outstanding contributions in 12 sectors – music, instrumental music, dance, dramatics, fine arts, recitation, photography, jatrashilpa, film, creative organizer, cultural researcher and folklore. Of the 12 sectors, the award is given in seven sectors every year.

Pin It