BPL-2016 starts Friday with Comilla-Rajshahi clash

The fourth edition of Bangladesh Premier League(BPL) will be kicked off Friday, November 4.

Defending champions Comilla Victorians will play Rajshahi Kings in the opening match.

This time, seven teams will fight for the trophy in the tournament.

The match will kick-off at 2:30 pm at the home of Bangladesh Cricket—Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

Comilla, captained by Mashrafe Mortaza won the title because of intelligent captaincy by the Bangladeshi skipper. With foreign recruits like Ashar Zaidi, Afghan spinner Rashid Khan, Nuan Kulasakara and Sohail Tanvir, the team also have Bangladeshi star players like Imrul Kayes, Litton Das and Al Amin Hossain. However, this time Comilla also depend on skipper Mashrafe to clinch the title.

Meanwhile, Rajshahi have strong batting line-up with players like Sabbir Rahman, Upul Tharanga, Umar Akmal, Muminul Haq, Darren Sammy and Roni Talukder. However, their main bowling attack depends on the performance of Mehedi Hasan who just had a spectacular series with England.

Followed by the opening match, Rangpur Riders will meet Khulna Titans in other match at the same day that will start at 7:15 pm at the same venue.

Seven franchise teams –defending champions Comilla Victorians, last time runners-up Barisal Bulls, Dhaka Dynamites, Rangpur Riders, Chittagong Vikings, Khulna Titans and Rajshahi Kings—will take part in the league to be held in Dhaka and Chittagong.

Followed by the matches in Dhaka venue, the BPL will be shifted to Chittagong and the matches will begin from November 17.

Remaining Dhaka venue matches are:

Nov 6: Rangpur Riders vs Rajshahi Kings (2 pm).

Barisal Bulls vs Khulna Titans (7 pm)

Nov 8: Barisal Bulls vs Dhaka Dynamites (2:pm)

Comilla Victorians vs Chittagong Vikings (7:pm)

Nov 9: Khulna Titas vs Rajshahi Kings (2:pm)

Rangpur Riders vs Chittagong Vikings (7 pm)

Nov 11: Comilla Victorians vs Barisal Bulls (2:pm)

Dhaka Dynamites vs Rajshahi Kings (7 pm)

Nov 12: Chittagong Vikings vs Khulna Titans ( 2:pm)

Rangpur Riders vs Dhaka Dynamites (7:pm)

Nov 13: Barisal Bulls vs Rajshahi Kings (2:pm)

Comilla Victorians vs Khulna Titans (7:pm)

Pin It