Bangladesh lose 2nd T20 to New Zealand by 47 runs

Bangladesh lost the second T20 match of the New Zealand tour by 47 runs at at Mount Maunganui on Friday.

Put to chase down a mammoth 196 run target, Bangladesh never looked on track.

Sabbir Rahman was Bangladesh’s highest scorer with 48 runs from 32 balls.

Six of the recognized batsmen of Bangladesh batting line up have gone back to the hut in the crunch situation of Bangladesh’s chase of 196 runs in the second T20.

Nurul and Mahmudullah are on the pitch trying to salvage something for the Tigers from the match.

Sabbir Rahman is holding the Bangladesh innings together after the fall of fourth wickets in the form of Soumya Sarkar.

Soumya went back to the pavilion after playing a cameo of 39 from 26 balls.

Soumya Sarkar and Sabbir Rahman are steadily building the Bangladesh innings after the fall of three early wickets.

Bangladesh are now 66 for 3 from 8 overs.

Bangladesh have lost opener Imrul Kayes early in the huge 196 run chase.

New Zealand have set up a hefty target of 196 for Bangladesh in the second T20 match at Mount Maunganui.

Colin Munroe has gone back to the pavilion after scoring 101 from 54 balls.

Rubel picked him up before taking de Grandhomme’s wicket in same over.

New Zealand are now 171 for 5 from 17 overs.

Colin Munroe picked up the maiden century of his international T20 career by destroying the Bangladesh bowling line-up.

It took him only 52 balls to reach the hundred mark hitting 7 fours and 7 sixes.

New Zealand have lost three of their top order batsmen early into the second T20 against Bangladesh.

Earlier, Bangladesh skipper Mashrafe Mortaza picked up New Zealand opener Luke Ronchi in the very first ball of the second T20 between the Kiwis and visiting Tigers.

Then Shakib Al Hasan picked up Kane Williamson when New Zealand were at 42.

Youngster Mosaddek then sent CJ Anderson back to the pavilion with him scoring only 4 from 3 balls.

Earlier, Mashrafe Mortaza, the Bangladesh captain, won the toss for the fourth time in the limited-overs series against New Zealand and opted to bowl.

Bangladesh went in with an unchanged XI, which meant Soumya Sarkar retained his spot despite scores of 1,0 in his last two innings.

New Zealand made three changes with Trent Boult, Ish Sodhi, and Jimmy Neesham returning to the line-up.

Lockie Ferguson, who took two wickets with his first two balls in T20 internationals on Tuesday was left out, as was Matt Henry.

Neil Broom, who opened the batting for New Zealand in the first T20, has been ruled out of the remainder of the series with a hand injury.

Wicketkeeper-batsman Luke Ronchi was listed to open with captain Kane Williamson.


Bangladesh: 1 Tamim Iqbal, 2 Imrul Kayes, 3 Sabbir Rahman, 4 Shakib Al Hasan, 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Soumya Sarkar, 7 Mosaddek Hossain, 8 Nurul Hasan (wk), 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Mustafizur Rahman, 11 Rubel Hossain

New Zealand: 1 Kane Williamson (capt), 2 Colin Munro, 3 Corey Anderson, 4 Jimmy Neesham, 5 Tom Bruce, 6 Colin de Grandhomme, 7 Luke Ronchi (wk), 8 Mitchell Santner, 9 Ben Wheeler, 10 Ish Sodhi, 11 Trent Boult

Pin It